Let It Go – 3 Things

Wednesday 3-26

1) I just appreciated myself today for all the hard work I’ve been doing at work and trying my best to be thoughtful and shit. It’s paid off in how well tonight’s program went. My college students are running on auto, or I ask them to do anything and they do it. They are leading the program and I am merely assisting. It’s an interesting and weird feeling to not be the one solely in charge, it’s a little hard for me to let loose of control. But what I’m learning is that I can and nothing will go wrong. Everything I’ve done to prepare for this moment has been done and things couldn’t have gone more smoothly than tonight. I had time to clean up our supplies (even if I was panicking and trying to find other certain things), organize papers, panic some more because I thought we were out of a form we use, take pictures of some matches, check in with a whole lot more, practice some math and left-handed writing, and talk to a bunch of students about their work. It was AWESOME!

2) I bought my coworker some soup because she’s been sick. It was the least I could do and I hope she feels better soon. I like making sure people have food to eat and I think it’s been an issue at work that has helped me think more about food justice and the little things I can do to be more aware of my own food practices.

3) Oh! This morning I took some time to sleep in and I didn’t particularly feel bad about it. As the years have gone on, I realize that taking care of myself will help me be at my best for work. I sometimes worry that it will permanently affect my work ethic (in terms of if and when I have to leave my current job) or that it will affect the people I currently and previously worked with. Sometimes I still worry about what people think of me, but then I realize that what I do to be at my best (as long as I’m not hurting or interfering with anyone else’s right to do the same) is what I need to do. You do you (a la Autostraddle) has been my mantra for the last few weeks and its working much better for me lately.

Disney’s Frozen “Let It Go” Sequence Performed by…:

Leave a Reply

